Social Development

 Home    News
|Five New Non-Permanent Members Join Security Council

Tuesday January 3, Ecuador, Japan, Malta, Mozambique and Switzerland began their duties as non-permanent members of the UN Security Council.

The five new member states, whose terms of membership last for two years, replace Kenya, India, Ireland, Norway and Mexico, whose terms of office expired on December 31, 2022.
Japan begins its duties by assuming the rotating presidency of the Council in January. The Security Council, the executive body of the United Nations responsible for peace and security issues, consists of five permanent members (China, the United States, Russia, France and the United Kingdom) and ten non-permanent members elected by the General Assembly for a period of two years.

Each year, five new non-permanent members are elected. In addition to the new members elected last June, the UN body also includes in its membership, for the year 2023, Albania, Brazil, the United Arab Emirates, Gabon and Ghana, which are the countries that joined the Council since January 1, 2022.

News and events on Western Sahara issue / CORCAS

1/4/2023   Back Print

 Home    |    News    |    Site map    |    Useful Links    |    Contact

Copyright © CORCAS 2013